Etched Vine and Geometric

On this recent smaller size piece (also available at Blue Rain Gallery Santa Fe) I’m trying a new method.

A kind of scrimshaw effect ,etched into the fired surface of the shoulder and neck . The clay from the shoulder up has a much finer temper

than the rest of the clay body, but its the same Vinita Oklahoma clay that I love. I don’t do any sanding on these pots as many pueblo artists do,

Its smoothed and finished as i coil and then polished with a stone as the pot is drying.

4 responses

  1. Phillip H. Duran

    Kweh Richard,

    Fantastic site and great art work. Will have to come back to it and browse longer.

    I never developed any artistic skills. I had no one to encourage or guide me. I’m thankful for our friendship.

    I looked into outdoor hydroponics recently but with our hot summers it’s not feasible. I know of no practical way to circulate cool water in hot weather.

    phil

    April 28, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    • Thanks Phil,
      I appreciate our friendship too with you and Norma,
      also appreciate your special native/physics perspective and insights in life.
      ske:noh
      Richard

      April 29, 2011 at 2:47 am

  2. Ulanawa Foote

    Beautiful work as always, bro! I really enjoy ooohing and ahhhing over all your wonderful masterpieces. 🙂

    May 15, 2011 at 12:44 am

  3. Richard Zane Smith

    hmmm…see some ads showing up on my page here….great….
    the google spider seems to be using my blog page as a place to set its traps.
    please ignore any bloodsucking invasive species advertising anything here.

    hmmm… maybe this is why WordPress is “free?”
    has it become a series of billboards to tack on google advertising?

    The advertising industry works like a smart trapper…playing the odds.
    To catch one “kritter” for dinner, logically one has to set a hundred traps.
    The internet becomes the new trapline set to seduce millions of “visitors”,
    knowing that only a few suckers out there actually “take” the bait.

    May 15, 2011 at 2:59 pm

Leave a Reply

