October dream

Last night while dreaming… i found myself gazing into a dark pit

a pit filled with living naked human bodies, smeared with filth.

above, men were throwing down lime or wood ash to cover their stench…i heard their moans but smelled nothing

it seemed from one side men were climbing out, but a wire cage of some sort separated the women and children,

they  could only reach up desperate slow waving arms.

I reached out instinctively to a woman and grasped her slippery hand,while a mans voice behind me said;

“Leave her she’s only going to be trouble” but i lifted her out feeling resentment about such callous remarks.

Then i pulled out two asian children,a boy with a very european nose and a small girl, petite and beautiful.

I began reaching for more to pull from that dark filthy hole and again a mans voice chided me;

“will you save them all?” and then i felt the presence of Carol my wife and heard her proud sunny voice;

“you don’t know Richard!  He won’t stop now!”

I kept thinking ,”I will stay here,and maybe Carol and one of these women can return with her using my airline ticket…”

But i kept reaching and bringing them out one at a time and could not leave one in there!

The two children were clothed and led into the sunlight. one of the women was putting them in car seats in a mini-van

and i spoke of them cheerfully, “ohhh…I want one!” ,   i was only being playful because ….i was so delighted…

and that is all i remember…but i woke up smiling…

2 responses

  1. Pamela G-S

    Wow! Some dream! I’ve been dreaming a lot too, lately, or remembering more of them.

    November 10, 2011 at 12:44 am

  2. Betty Zane

    I work in the drug and alcohol rehabilitaion industry and am always at a loss for words when asked to discribe what I do, this dream nails it…Thanks Richard, keep dreaming and sharing.

    November 19, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Leave a Reply

